System of Competition
loading...Please wait while content is loading.
System of Competition

System of Competition

Group A: Brazil, Canada, Dominican Republic and Puerto Rico.
Group B: Argentina, Chile, Cuba and Venezuela.

With the participation of eight (8) teams, and under FIBA's current Games Rules, this Championship will be played in three (3) rounds. If there is a tie for the same position during the First Round, the respective system established by FIBA for that kind of situations will be also utilized.

Group Stage (September 23-25)

The two best teams per group reach the semifinals; the winners go for the gold and losers for the bronze. The teams who finished third and fourth in the group play in the Classification Round (5-8).

Semifinals: (September 26)

The first place team faces the fourth place and the second faces the third team in the first round standings. The winners play for gold and losers for bronze in the finals.

Finals: (September 27)

The Gold Medal game should be the last game of the tournament.


The top three teams qualify for the 2010 FIBA World Championship for Women to be played in the Czech Republic.

Final Results
3rd Place
FIBA Daily Newsletter
Subscribe to our daily newsletter and get the latest basketball news directly into your mailbox.