Key Facts
loading...Please wait while content is loading.
Key Facts
Name of the Championship:
2009 FIBA Americas Championship for Women

Local Organizing Committee (Brazil) - 2009 FIBA Americas Championship for Women

September 23-27:
- First Round - 23/9 to 25/9
- Semi-Finals - 26/9
- Finals - 27/9

Aecim Tocantins Gymnasium, Cuiaba, Mato Grosso, Brazil.

FIBA Americas Champion

Each TV broadcast is established within the Schedule pages of FIBA America's broadcasting associates.


Brazil, capital of women's basketball

Brazil is once again the host of the 2009 FIBA Americas Championship for Women, the most important basketball event in the Americas Zone.

This is the fifth time that Brazil is the host of this event and every time it has been the World Championship qualifier.

San Pablo has been the host three times (1989, 1993, and 1997) and Sao Luis in 2001. This year the 2009 FIBA Americas Championship for Women will be played in the city of Cuiaba, state of Mato Grosso.

During the last couple of years Cuiaba has been the host of important events in volleyball and this time basketball thanks to the opening of Aecim Tocantins Gymnasium with a capacity of 12,000 fans.

Brazil has been the champion of this event on three occasions. The first time was in San Pablo in 1997, then in Sao Luis in 2001 and finally in Culiacan, México in 2003. In the World Qualifiers they finish in the top two each time, winning gold in two and silver in three.

The 2009 FIBA Americas Championship for Women will be played from September 23-27 with the participation of eight countries. Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico and Venezuela will play to finish in the top three in order to qualify for the 2010 FIBA World Championship for Women in the Czech Republic.

Zone's Qualification (7 Teams)

• Centrobasket Tournament (Cuba, Dominican Republic and Puerto Rico)
• South American Championship (Argentina, Brazil, Chile and Venezuela)

Canada automatically qualified as they are one of the two representatives of the North America Zone. The United States does not need to play since they won Gold in the 2008 Olympics and earned a berth in the 2010 FIBA World Championship for Women.

Participating National Teams:

• Argentina
• Brazil
• Canada
• Chile
• Cuba
• Dominican Republic
• Puerto Rico
• Venezuela

Competition System:

Group A: Brazil, Canada, Dominican Republic and Puerto Rico.
Group B: Argentina, Chile, Cuba and Venezuela.

With the participation of eight (8) teams, and under FIBA's current Games Rules, this Championship will be played in three (3) rounds. If there is a tie for the same position during the First Round, the respective system established by FIBA for that kind of situations will be also utilized.

The two best teams per group reach the semifinals; the winners go for the gold and losers for the bronze. The teams who finish third and fourth in the group play in the Classification Round (5-8).

At the end of the tournament, the top three (3) qualify for the 2010 FIBA World Championship for Women.


Final Results
3rd Place
FIBA Daily Newsletter
Subscribe to our daily newsletter and get the latest basketball news directly into your mailbox.